Home Technical Resources Technical Publications

Technical Publications

Resources on Concrete Technology

Concrete Design Handbook and Design and Control of Concrete Mixtures are two key publications produced by the Cement Association of Canada which can be purchased on-line.

ConcreteDesignCover

Concrete Design Handbook - 4th Edition

The 4th Edition of the Concrete Design Handbook, the premier guide for concrete design in Canada, covers many aspects of the structural design of conventionally reinforced and prestressed concrete buildings. It offers a comprehensive analysis of the CSA Group standard A23.3-14, Design of concrete structures, and addresses the design of reinforced concrete structural elements in accordance with the Standard. The Concrete Design Handbook also includes a complete copy of the CSA Group A23.3-14 design standard ($205 VALUE).

This new edition reflects changes made to the CSA Group standard A23.3-14 and aligns with the 2015 National Building Code of Canada. It supersedes the 3rd Edition printed in 2006.

In order to keep the volume of the Handbook to a reasonable size, a number of the design aids which form part of this Handbook are not included in the printed version but are now available as a free download below. The files may be downloaded for each of the Chapters noted below separately or as one comprehensive file.

The 4th Edition can be purchased through Orderline Inc. in Toronto. Orders for students and bookstores, please call 1-888-361-0003 or email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

Pricing for the 4th Edition of the Concrete Design Handbook, hard cover format:

  • Retail $230
  • Student $181

Note: Prices are in Canadian dollars and exclude applicable taxes, shipping and handling. Visa, MasterCard and American Express accepted.

The printing errata for the 3rd Edition of the Concrete Design Handbook is available by clicking here.

 

EB101 - Design And Control Of Concrete Mixtures Eighth Canadian Edition

EB101EnglishCoverFinal.jpg

Item Code: EB101.08

Date: 2011

S. Kosmatka, B. Kerkhoff, R. R. D. Hooton, and R. J McGrath

Description: Design and Control of Concrete Mixtures--the guide to applications, methods, and materials, has been the industry’s primary reference on concrete technology for over 85 years This fully revised 8th edition is a concise, current reference on concrete, that includes the many advances that occurred since the last edition was published in 2002. The text is backed by over 95 years of research by the Portland Cement Association and the Cement Association of Canada. It reflects the latest information on standards, specifications, test methods and guides of the Canadian Standards Association (CSA), ASTM International (ASTM), the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), the American Concrete Institute (ACI), and the National Ready Mixed Concrete Association (NRMCA).

This book presents the properties of concrete as required in concrete construction, including strength and durability. All concrete ingredients (cementing materials, water, aggregates, chemical admixtures, and fibres) are reviewed for their optimal use in designing and proportioning concrete mixtures. The use of concrete from design to batching, mixing, transporting, placing, consolidating, finishing, and curing is addressed. This edition has added two new chapters covering "sustainability" and "durability".

Additionally, new information has been included in Chapter 3 on the new Portland-limestone cements that are now included in the current CSA cement and concrete standards. Manufacturing Portland-limestone cement reduces CO2 emissions by up to 10% over that of regular portland cement.

This comprehensive manual benefits personnel from ready-mixed concrete producers, concrete contractors, and material suppliers and is a reference publication for many national and provincial certification programs. Design and Control of Concrete Mixtures also meets the growing needs of architects, engineers, builders, and students. This book is a “must have” for anyone involved with concrete.

  • Chapter 1 Fundamentals of Concrete
  • Chapter 2 Sustainability
  • Chapter 3 Portland, Portland-limestone, Blended and Other Hydraulic Cement
  • Chapter 4 Fly Ash, Slag, Silica Fume, and Natural Pozzolans
  • Chapter 5 Mixing Water for Concrete
  • Chapter 6 Aggregates for Concrete
  • Chapter 7 Admixtures for Concrete
  • Chapter 8 Fibres
  • Chapter 9 Volume Changes of Concrete
  • Chapter 10 Air-Entrained Concrete
  • Chapter 11 Durability
  • Chapter 12 Designing and Proportioning Concrete Mixtures
  • Chapter 13 Batching, Mixing, Transporting, and Handling Concrete
  • Chapter 14 Placing and Finishing Concrete
  • Chapter 15 Curing Concrete
  • Chapter 16 Hot Weather Concreting
  • Chapter 17 Cold Weather Concreting
  • Chapter 18 Control Test for Concrete
  • Chapter 19 High-Performance Concrete
  • Chapter 20 Special Types of Concrete

Price - On-line Orders Only

  • Retail (Engineers, Architects) $60
  • Students $35
  • CAC and Member Companies $30

Orders for students and bookstores: Call 1-888-361-0003.
Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .
Fax 416-369-0600.

Note: Prices are in Canadian dollars and exclude provincial sales taxes, shipping and handling. Visa, MasterCard and American Express accepted.

Accueil Ressources techniques Publications techniques

Publications techniques

Ressources sur la technologie du béton

Les ouvrages Concrete Design Handbook (manuel de conception des structures en béton) et Dosage et contrôle des mélanges de béton sont deux publications de référence de l'Association Canadienne du Ciment qui peuvent être commandées en ligne.

ConcreteDesignCover.JPG

Concrete Design Handbook – 4e Édition (disponible en anglais seulement)

La 4e édition du Concrete Design Handbook, le guide principal de conception en béton au Canada, aborde de nombreux aspects de la conception structurale des bâtiments en béton armé et précontraint conventionnels. Le guide présente une analyse complète de la norme Groupe CSA A23.3-14, Calcul des ouvrages en béton, et couvre la conception d’éléments structuraux en béton armé selon la norme. Le “Concrete Design Handbook” comprend également une copie complète de la norme Groupe CSA A23.3-14 (VALEUR de 205$).

Cette nouvelle édition reflète les changements apportés à la norme Groupe CSA A23.3-14 et s’aligne avec le Code national du bâtiment 2015. Elle remplace la 3e édition imprimée en 2006.

Afin de maintenir le volume du manuel à une taille raisonnable, certaines des aides de conception qui font partie du manuel ne sont pas incluses dans la version imprimée, mais sont disponibles en ligne où elles peuvent être téléchargées gratuitement. Un fichier de ces aides peut être téléchargé pour chacun des chapitres indiqués ci-dessous. Un fichier regroupant les aides de conception pour ces chapitres est aussi disponible. Il est à noter que ces aides de conception sont disponibles en anglais seulement.

La 4e édition peut être commandée de Orderline Inc. à Toronto. Pour les commandes pour étudiants et les librairies, veuillez appeler le 1-888-361-0003 ou envoyer un courriel à Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir. .

Prix pour la 4e édition du Concrete Design Handbook, format de livre relié :

  • Détail 230 $
  • Étudiant 181 $

Note : Les prix sont indiqués en dollars canadiens et ne comprennent pas les taxes ou les frais d’expédition et de manutention. Visa, MasterCard et American Express acceptées.

L’errata (disponible en anglais seulement) pour la 3e Édition du Concrete Design Handbook est disponible en cliquant ici.

 

EB101 - Dosage et contrôle des mélanges de béton, 8e édition canadienne

EB101FrenchCoverFinal.jpg

Code: EB 101.08
Date : 2011

Steven H. Kosmatka, Beatrix Kerkhoff, R. Douglas Hooton, Richard J. McGrath

Description: Dosage et contrôle des mélanges de béton est la principale référence de l’industrie depuis plus de 85 ans en ce qui concerne le béton, qu’il s’agisse du matériau, du dosage et des applications. Cette 8ème édition canadienne entièrement révisée a été conçue de façon à fournir une référence à jour et concise sur le béton, incluant tous les nombreux progrès qui ont été faits depuis la dernière édition publiée en 2002. Cette documentation s’appuie sur plus de 95 années de recherches de la Portland Cement Association et de l’Association Canadienne du Ciment. Elle est aussi le reflet des plus récentes informations sur les normes, les spécifications et les méthodes d’essais de la Canadian Standard Association (CSA) de l’ASTM International (ASTM), de L’American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), de l’American Concrete Institute (ACI) et de la National Ready Mixed Concrete Association (NRMCA).

Ce livre décrit les propriétés requises pour la construction en béton, incluant la résistance et la durabilité. Tous les ingrédients du béton (liants, eau, granulats, adjuvants chimiques et fibres) sont présentés de manière à ce qu’ils soient utilisés de façon optimale lors de la conception et du dosage des mélanges de béton. Il est question dans ce livre de tout ce qui concerne le béton, de sa conception au malaxage, de son transport à sa mise en place, de sa consolidation à sa finition et à sa cure. Cette édition comporte deux nouveaux chapitres où sont abordés le «développement durable» et la «durabilité».

De plus, de nouvelles informations sur le ciment portland au calcaire ont été ajoutées dans le chapitre 3. Ce ciment fait maintenant partie des normes en vigueur sur le ciment et le béton. Par rapport au ciment portland ordinaire, la fabrication du ciment portland au calcaire réduit de 10% les émissions de CO2.

Ce document détaillé s’adresse au personnel des producteurs de béton prêt à l’emploi, aux entrepreneurs, aux fournisseurs de matériaux et est une publication de référence pour plusieurs programmes de certification au niveau national et provincial. Dosage et contrôle des mélanges de béton répond aussi aux besoins croissants des architectes, ingénieurs, entrepreneurs et étudiants. Ce livre est un incontournable pour toute personne œuvrant dans le domaine du béton.

  • Chapitre 1 - Caractéristiques fondamentales du béton
  • Chapitre 2 - Développement durable
  • Chapitre 3 - Ciments portland, ciments portland au calcaire, ciments hydrauliques composés et autres liants hydrauliques
  • Chapitre 4 - Cendre volante, laitier, fumée de silice et pouzzolanes naturelles
  • Chapitre 5 - Eau de gâchage du béton
  • Chapitre 6 - Granulats du béton
  • Chapitre 7 - Adjuvants du béton
  • Chapitre 8 - Les fibres
  • Chapitre 9 - Changements volumétriques du béton
  • Chapitre 10 - Béton à air entraîné
  • Chapitre 11 - Durabilité
  • Chapitre 12 - Dosage des bétons conventionnels
  • Chapitre 13 - Dosage, malaxage, transport et manutention du béton
  • Chapitre 14 - Mise en place et finition du béton
  • Chapitre 15 - Cure du béton
  • Chapitre 16 - Bétonnage par temps chaud
  • Chapitre 17 - Bétonnage par temps froid
  • Chapitre 18 - Essais de contrôle de qualité
  • Chapitre 19 - Béton à hautes performances (BHP)
  • Chapitre 20 - Bétons spéciaux

Prix – Commandes en ligne uniquement

  • Au détail (architectes, ingénieurs) 60 $
  • Étudiants 35 $
  • L’ACC et ses membres 30 $

Commandes pour étudiants et librairies - Appellez le 1-866-875-6793
Couriel: Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir.
Télécopieur: 416-369-0600

Note : Les prix sont indiqués en dollars canadiens et ne comprennent pas les taxes ou les frais d'expédition et de manutention. Visa, MasterCard et American Express acceptées.