Agriculture

Product advancement and
innovation in
concrete technology is the
hallmark of Canada’s
cement and concrete industry.
Take a closer look at
what today’s concrete solutions
can provide
Canada’s agricultural community.

Smart Growth

Opportunity

One of the major opportunities for family farms today is the conversion of land from grain crops to pasture and forage production. This responds to a market shift favouring the livestock sector.

Challenge

This growth comes with its challenges – especially increased demand for responsible manure management. Rules and regulations are in place to ensure that livestock expansion can occur while respecting the quality of life of all individuals within the surrounding community. The primary concerns with current manure management practices include:

  • Surface and groundwater contamination
  • Odour created from storage and spreading of manure
  • Emissions of methane and nitrous oxide as greenhouse gases.
agri-1.jpg

The need to find efficient and cost-effective waste management solutions are paramount. Odour and disease control, as well as water quality protection, have become priority issues to Canadian farm operators and municipalities. Environmental concerns and the high rate of urban/suburban sprawl are changing the landscape of the farming industry and the way it is perceived by Canadian communities.

There is a solution that can help to manage this expansion to the satisfaction of the farm operator, the municipality, as well as the community.

Solution

agri-2.jpg

Incorporating an Integrated Waste Management System into a livestock operation will allow farm waste to be turned into resources that produce energy, organic fertilizer and reusable water. This system provides an economically viable and environmentally responsible solution for both managing manure and transforming it into a valuable resource.

Livestock producers who incorporate this system can:

  • Derive economic benefits from organic carbon and nutrients contained in the manure
  • Offset greenhouse gas emissions
  • Eliminate adverse environmental impacts.

Integrated Waste Management Solution

agri-3.jpg

Diagram courtesy of the Alberta Reseach Council

This Integrated Waste Management Solution (IWMS) incorporates wastewater treatment, aerobic and anaerobic digester systems.

The anaerobic digester system is designed to hold decomposing manure under controlled, oxygen-free conditions that promote the growth of naturally occurring bacteria. These bacteria digest manure, producing methane and an effluent that farmers can use in place of untreated manure.

Methane gas produced by digesters – known as biogas, can be captured costeffectively and used as an energy source. Farmers can use biogas to produce additional electrical and thermal energy while reducing odour and methane emissions.

Production of this electricity reduces operating costs and makes the operation more self-sufficient by reducing dependency on an outside energy provider. The process also prevents surface and groundwater contamination.

agri-4.jpg

Canadian farm operators know the level of commitment it takes to remain successful in an ever changing environment. They routinely face significant challenges of landscape,weather, population growth, rapidly advancing farming technology, and changing legislation.

In order to ensure a sustainable future, those involved in the farming industry must rely on dedication, education, insight and innovation.

As the use of the system proceeds, treatment could involve aerobic digestion or composting of waste solids into compost fertilizer. Processed digested solids could be marketed to farmers or gardeners as a high quality fertilizer.

Liquid effluent can be processed through a wastewater treatment process and used as water for farm application. Excess electricity produced from captured methane could be sold off to electric utilities. Such benefits represent significant potential revenue and cost savings which are critical to the viability of today’s farm operators.

Concrete Solutions

What's Next?

All levels of government – Federal, Provincial and Municipal – are seriously seeking to create incentive programs that protect our water supply and reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Programs currently under consideration include grants, cost sharing, low-interest loans, demonstration projects, information and technical support. By partnering in an Integrated Waste Management Project, you can take advantage of these assistance programs. In addition, you will be seen as a concerned and progressive leader in the industry and your community.

The cement and concrete industry in Canada is seeking opportunities to bring together governments, interested farmers and other prospective stakeholders interested in setting up a partnership that would greatly benefit all parties involved.

No matter what
your primary objective
may be,
this is an opportunity
worth investigating.

Here is the opportunity for you to resolve current farming concerns, increase the profitability of your operation and create a sustainable business model for future farm generations:

  • Offset fluctuating revenues from crops and livestock
  • Realize an additional source of income to ensure sustainability and growth of operation
  • Reduce dependency on crop insurance and government assistance programs
  • Contribute positively to climate change
agri-5.jpg

If you are interested in working in partnership with our industry to realize such an opportunity, contact your local Cement Association office for details.

Agriculture

Amélioration du produit
et innovation technologique
sont les traits distinctifs
de l'industrie du ciment et
du béton au Canada.
Voici une des solutions
qui s'offrent aux agriculteurs
canadiens aujourd'hui.

Expansion écologique

Possibilité d'expansion

Vu la conjoncture favorable à l'élevage et aux productions animales, la substitution de cultures fourragères et de pâturages aux cultures céréalières est une des principales possibilités d'expansion s'offrant aux exploitants de
fermes familiales aujourd'hui.

Défis

Toutefois, cette expansion n'est pas sans défis... particulièrement au chapitre de l'élimination du fumier qu'on veut plus réfléchie. Divers règlements visent à permettre l'expansion de l'élevage tout en protégeant la qualité de vie des collectivités avoisinantes. Les préoccupations premières engendrées par les méthodes d'élimination actuelles sont :

  • la pollution des eaux superficielles et souterraines
  • les odeurs résultant de l'entreposage et de l'épandage du fumier
  • les émissions de méthane et d'oxyde nitreux, qui sont des gaz à effet de serre
agri-1.jpg

Il est primordial d'y trouver des solutions efficaces et rentables. La lutte contre les odeurs et les maladies est aujourd'hui, avec la protection de la qualité de l'eau, une question prioritaire pour les agriculteurs canadiens et les municipalités rurales. Les préoccupations écologiques et l'expansion tentaculaire des villes et banlieues redéfinissent le cadre de l'agriculture et changent la perception qu'en ont les collectivités canadiennes.
Il existe une solution qui peut aider à gérer l'expansion de l'élevage à la satisfaction de tous les intéressés, exploitants agricoles, municipalités et collectivités.

Solution

agri-2.jpg

L'addition d'un système de gestion intégrée des résidus permettrait en effet de transformer les résidus agricoles d'un élevage en ressources productrices d'énergie, d'engrais organique et d'eau réutilisable. C'est une solution viable et respectueuse de l'environnement, puisque ce genre de système permet d'éliminer le fumier en le convertissant en un bien de valeur.

L'éleveur qui équipe son exploitation d'un tel système peut :

  • tirer profit du carbone organique et des substances nutritives que renferme le fumier
  • compenser les émissions de gaz à effet de serre
  • éliminer des effets préjudiciables à l'environnement

Gestion intégrée des résidus

agri-3_fr.jpg

Gracieusement fourni par l'Alberta Research Council

Le système de gestion intégrée des résidus proposé en agriculture conjugue épuration des eaux usées, digestion anaérobie et digestion aérobie.

Le digesteur anaérobie est conçu de manière à garder le fumier en décomposition dans les conditions d'humidité et d'absence d'oxygène qui favorisent la croissance de certaines bactéries présentes dans la nature. Ces bactéries transforment le fumier en méthane et en un effluent dont les agriculteurs peuvent se servir à la place du fumier brut.

Le méthane - ou biogaz - produit par le digesteur peut être recueilli de façon économique et servir de source d'énergie. Les agriculteurs peuvent l'utiliser comme source d'électricité ou de chauffage d'appoint tout en réduisant les odeurs et les émissions polluantes.

La production d'électricité à partir du biogaz réduit les frais d'exploitation et rend l'entreprise plus autonome en l'affranchissant en partie des sources d'énergie extérieures. Tout surplus pourrait, par ailleurs, être vendu à des services publics d'électricité.

agri-4.jpg

Les agriculteurs canadiens savent toute la détermination qu'il faut pour prospérer dans un milieu ou tout change continuellement. Ils doivent sans cesse  composer avec les particularités du sol, le temps, la croissance démographique, l'évolution rapide des techniques agricoles et la modification des lois.

Pour se tailler un avenir, ils doivent avoir une volonté de fer, s'informer, être perspicaces et tirer parti des innovations.


La gestion intégrée des résidus empêche en outre la pollution des eaux superficielles et souterraines.

Le système peut en effet comprendre un digesteur aérobie permettant de composter les solides résiduels et d'en tirer de l'engrais. Cet engrais, qui est de grande qualité, pourrait être vendu à d'autres agriculteurs ou à des jardiniers.

La digestion aérobie produit aussi un effluent liquide qui peut être soumis à un procédé d'épuration afin de fournir de l'eau pour l'exploitation agricole.

Bref, la gestion intégrée des résidus agricoles peut être une source d'économies, voire de revenus notables pour l'agriculteur moderne, ce qui est de première importance pour la viabilité de son entreprise aujourd'hui.

Solution durable

Comment en profiter?

À tous les niveaux - fédéral, provincial et municipal -, l'administration publique s'emploie à créer des programmes d'encouragement en vue de protéger notre approvisionnement en eau et de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Divers programmes à l'étude prévoient des subventions, le partage de frais, des prêts à faible taux d'intérêt, des projets pilotes, la diffusion d'informations et un soutien technique. En participant à un projet de gestion intégrée des résidus, vous pourriez bénéficier de cette assistance. Vous seriez en outre perçu dans l'industrie et dans votre collectivité comme un citoyen responsable et un artisan du progrès.

L'industrie canadienne du ciment et du béton souhaite promouvoir la collaboration de l'administration publique, d'agriculteurs et d'autres intéressés dans le cadre d'un partenariat qui serait très avantageux pour tous.


Quel que soit votre
objectif premier, c'est
une occasion à explorer!

Voici l'occasion d'apporter une solution durable à des préoccupations actuelles de la collectivité agricole, d'accroître la rentabilité de votre exploitation et de créer un modèle de gestion viable pour les générations à venir, un modèle grâce auquel les agriculteurs pourront :

  • compenser les fluctuations de revenus des récoltes et de l'élevage
  • tirer parti d'une autre source de revenus pour assurer la pérennité et la croissance de leur entreprise
  • réduire leur dépendance face à l'assurance-récolte et aux programmes d'aide publique
  • aider activement à contrer le changement climatique
agri-5.jpg

Si vous jugez intéressant de travailler avec l'industrie du ciment et du béton afin de tirer avantage de cette occasion, communiquez avec le bureau de l'Association Canadienne du Ciment de votre région pour en savoir plus.